Getting familiar with Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Racing morphed into Roush Fenway Racing in 2007 when Fenway Sports Group (Boston Red Sox owners) obtained 50% partnership stake in the team. Roush Fenway Racing is undoubtedly one of NASCAR’s most successful teams.

The team started out as a division of an already booming road-racing equipment and automotive engineering commercial enterprise in 1988. Jack Roush is the founder of the team whose operations are in Livonia, Michigan while the foundation of Roush Fenway Racing is in Concord, North Carolina, which is also home of the NASCAR operations.

The Brand

Since its first entry into the world of racing, Roush Fenway Racing has only competed in cars carrying the Ford insignia. During the Nextel Cup, Roush races in the Ford Fusion that has also made inroads into the Busch Series. During the Craftsman Truck Series, Roush will participate using the Ford F-150. This team is also the winner of Nationwide Series Championship for a consecutive two years with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. in 2011 and 2012.

The Drivers

When Roush Racing was only five years old, America’s basketball ‘dream team’ was unveiled for the ’92 Summer Olympics, a generation later; in 2013, Jack Roush unveiled the stock car racing’s dream team. The team drivers are Greg Biffle, Travis Pastrana, Carl Edwards, Ricky Stenhouse, Trevor Bayne and Chris Buescher.

Trevor Bayne

He is the youngest winner of the famous Daytona 500 and is currently on his way to pulling one of the biggest upsets in the history of sports. In November 8, 2013, Bayne is expected to make his 8th NASCAR Nationwide Series kick off at Phoenix International Raceway. Over his career, he has earned three top 10s and one top five.

Chris Beuscher

By the age of six, Buescher was racing on motorcycles until he made the switch over to the Bandolero Series at the age of nine. At age 12, he was at the nationals. In October of 2013, he made his first start at his ninth NNS race in Kansas behind the wheel of a Ford Mustang.

Ricky Stenhouse JR.

This Olive Branch, MS native became the first Roush Fenway Racing’s back-to-back champion to take the crown home in the Nationwide Series Championship. Overall, he has six wins, 26 top 10s finishes, four poles and 19 top 5s. This season he moves up to Sprint Cup Series behind the wheel of Roush’s historic No. 17 Ford Fusion. Recently, at the Texas Motor Speedway, he had to settle for 16th place during AAA Texas 500.

Carl Edwards

In just eight short years, Edwards has earned himself the reputation of been a voracious competitor. He has earned along the way 3 Rookie of the year honors, 75+ feature wins on both pavement and dirt tracks and 2 NASCAR sanctioned championships. During the NASCAR Sprint Cup at the Texas Motor Speedway, he had to contend with 37-place finish after his car developed a mechanical problem during the 168th lap.

Travis Pastrana

Behind the wheel of Roush’s No. 6 Ford, Pastrana became a full time NASCAR Nationwide Series Racing in 2013. For the 2013 season, he teams up with veteran crew chief Chad Norris.

Greg Biffle

Biffle is looking to enter into the history books as the first driver in NASCAR to capture all three NASCAR premier series. In 2002 and 2000 he won the Nationwide Series Championships and NASCAR truck, he only requires adding the coveted Sprint Cup in order to get the triple crown.

You May Also Like