2015 Hall of Fame Five Inductees to be Announced Soon

The voting panel on the NASCAR hall of fame will be busy today selecting the five people that they would like to be inducted in to the Hall of Fame. There are 20 nominees for them to choose from which is a mix of champion drivers, engine builders, team owners and a track owner.

Out of all of the nominees, the most popular is bill Elliott. He was the cup winner in 1988 and also won the Daytona 500 twice. He was voted 16 times to be the most popular NASCAR driver and his son has followed him in to the sport.

NASCAR fans are keen to see Terry Lebonte voted in though. The 1984 and 1996 champion still sometimes races in the Sprint Cup championship and even did at Talladega this month, coming 24th.

Both of these drivers were made eligible for nomination due to the fact that changes have been made to the process. Any driver that has competed for 30 years or more and is over 55 can qualify, when in the past they had to have been retired for at least three years.

Among the team owners nominated are Rick Hendrick and Richard Childress who still have teams on the track at the moment. Track owner Bruton Smith is also in the mix as he owns eight NASCAR tracks. Wendell Scott is also up and he was the first African-American NASCAR premier race series winner.

The inductees will be announced at 4pm ET and there will also be an announcement as to who will receive the Landmark award for outstanding contributions to NASCAR.

A full list of nominees follows: Buddy Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Bill Elliott, Ray Fox, Rick Hendrick, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Fred Lorenzen, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Larry Phillips, Wendell Scott, O. Bruton Smith, Mike Stefanik. Curtis Turner, Joe Weatherly, Rex White and Robert Yates.

The Landmark Award nominees are H. Clay Earles, Anne Bledsoe France, Raymond Parks, Ralph Seagraves and Ken Squier.

You May Also Like